Chapter One – Where did it go?

So, it’s Wednesday – the day I’m supposed to update you on the goings-on in my current work-in-progress. Only, there’s not been much progress on which to report.

I’m trying to layout Chapter One right now – there are 5 things I need to cover in the first chapter –

  • disclose the crime
  • plant some clues and/or red herrings right away
  • introduce the sleuth, and reveal just enough of her background to understand her world
  • ground the reader in the time and place
  • begin with a dramatic event (whose? The victim? The sleuth? decisions)

So clearly,  I can absolutely disclose the crime at the start of chapter two, perhaps the very, very end of chapter one. Because let’s admit it – that’s a tall order for chapter one, isn’t it?

Also, in what order do I wish to plot these?

So, that’s literally what I’m staring at right now…

Leave a Reply

