The Unforgettable Hero

No, I’m not talking about Rupert. At least, not right now. Be on the lookout for something in the future. We can get together and discuss crafting an unforgettable hero. No, today I wanted to share my review of The Unforgettable Hero by Valerie Bowman.

Where to start? Ah yes, the blurb. As always…

“To escape a forced marriage to her loathsome, social-climbing cousin, Cecelia Harcourt banks on selling a romantic novel. But when she’s hit by a coach on the way home from meeting a potential publisher and loses her memory, the accident leads to an encounter with a fascinating man. . . who she’s convinced is the hero of her novel.

Due to his brother’s influence, Lieutenant Adam Hunt finds himself honorably discharged from the army. Adam intends to make his way in the world without the help of a war-hero duke, brother or no. He finds his plans for independence sidetracked by a chance encounter with a lady whose memory has gone. She believes he’s a hero. Can Adam become the man he was meant to be and fill that lofty role?”

First of all, I’m sold on a Lieutenant Adam because I am slightly obsessed with Kylo-Ren. Adam Driver. Mmmm…

Anyway.

First of all, I was given a copy of this via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review…

Now, this is a novella, and I am finding that I love novellas that are done well. When done right, one gets all the emotional punch of a full length novel with not as much commitment, which one needs while attending school full time, working full time, and writing a novel of one’s own.

Here’s the thing about reviews – you get the gist of the story itself from the blurb, so I don’t want to bore you with that. What I do want to do is tell you why I feel you should read it.

1. It’s lighthearted, despite the presence of a thoroughly offensive cousin.
2. The characters are well-developed.
3. The premise (amnesia) is well-handled and not done too frequently.

I will state that there are a few minor mistakes with editing, but despite seeing them, I was able to glide right past them.

To summarize: fun, well-developed, quick read. Buy it.

Leave a Reply

