Book Review – Bargaining With a Rake

It feels like forever since I started it, but I finally finished Bargaining With a Rake by Julie Johnstone. And I blame that on school and work, not the book itself. (That said, it took me a whole 3 weeks to finish, TYVM Goodreads.)

So, let me first share the blurb –

For eleven years, Gillian Rutherford has dreamed of escaping her family’s dark secret and living a normal life. Now, faced with an unwelcome marriage that will chain her to London and the secret slowly killing her, she’s desperate to save herself and the sister she adores. Salvation comes in the form of an American shipping tycoon, and all she must do is seduce him into marrying her. But Gillian’s scheme hits a snag when she makes a bargain with a notorious rake Alexander Trevelle, Lord Lionhurst. He’ll help her win the hand of his American friend, if she’ll assist him with exacting revenge against her unwanted fiancé. But the price of the pact may just be their hearts.

Now, let me share my thoughts – This is my first Julie Johnstone book, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Gillian and Alex are perfect for each other, and despite their almost instant connection, they fight it tooth and nail. I liked the slow build up to realization, and I felt the characters were both fully formed.

Shall we discuss the villain? I’ve seen a reviewer state they liked him, and even hoped for his reformation. No.

Seriously, just no. He is not redeemable, not from the moment he comes into play, and that is perfectly wonderful. If he were redeemable, he and Gillian would be together, would they not?

I’m not sure what you’re waiting for – go buy  the book. It’s currently free on Amazon. And don’t forget, the giveaway from my last review ends tomorrow. So far, I have like 3 persons who actually qualify. I’d love to open that field a bit…

Leave a Reply

