30 Day Blog Challenge – Day Sixteen

Lordy, but I am struggling with this today. It’s just after 11 pm, and I’m five words short of my NaNoWriMo goal… and I still have this blog to do.

Ima get those words, even if they’re gibberish, never you worry about that. But first, let me just knock this one out for you, eh?

My thoughts on education…

Oh, Mother Morrigan. (Thanks, Susan, world’s best writing partner!)

Education is so important. It should be a fundamental right for everyone, regardless of socio-economic status, but it seems to have become something reserved for only the wealthy, and that’s a damn shame.

Instead of teaching our youth to think, to question, to learn… we teach them to memorize, to test. We are allowing religious fundamentalism to worm it’s way into our education system. We are glorifying a past that out to shame us.

So what do I think about education? I think we are allowing the religious right to dumb down our education system, and I think it’s time we did something about it.

And after the events of the past few days, I am beyond the point where I care if this causes me to lose friends or potential readers. I’m just tired of it all.

Life is too short for all this hate I’m seeing in my Facebook news feed.

Leave a Reply

