Challenge, Day Two – Facts

If you don’t follow me over on Channillo, you will have missed my announcement yesterday – National Novel Writing Month kicked off with a bang for me – 1857 words. I’ve set myself a daily goal of approximately 1700, so that was awesome.

But, I like challenges – I like to push myself. And to do this, I decided to also do a 30 day blog channel. But I’m not stupid enough to think I can do 1700 original words on my current novel (let’s not even talk about how I’m going to shut off my self-defeating internal editor who wants to write the same words over and over, ad nauseum) PLUS two blog posts a day.

What’s the answer? Well, I post to each blog on alternate days, obviously. Yesterday, it was Channillo, today I bless WordPress with my words. Curse? Dunno. Anyway…

Yesterday, I explained the name of my journal page on Channillo – you should check it out over there. Today, it is 20 facts about myself –

  1. I turned 40 on 28 October…
  2. Despite the diabetes that I cannot seem to control, I still only feel about 23.
  3. I love the grey/silver in my hair
  4. I’m still not over the death of my father
  5. I am terrified of failure
  6. I was accepted to Southern Illinois University, and start back in January
  7. I don’t like to talk about myself, so this is hard
  8. I love my job – and the company I work for 🙂
  9. I love my husband more each day.
  10. I don’t think she knows it, but I love my mom very much
  11. I don’t like zombies
  12. I love to read
  13. I am fairly certain my goals of writing are just pipe dreams
  14. I like to sleep in, but I look forward to starting a new day
  15. I am sick to death of people who say  we need to “get over” being offended by highly offensive things like rape culture, (making fun of) serious mental disorders, etc…
  16. I have a thing about my phone displaying any little numbers by my email or my settings (indicating an update available)
  17. Because of #16, the broken update for the Goodreads app might just send me over the edge.
  18. I have never read some of the “classics”
  19. I rarely watch movies. Name it, and it’s likely I’ve not seen it.
  20. I am addicted to gum. Cannot stop chewing it – although, definitely not as bad as Violet Beauregarde 🙂

And, that’s it. Since you stuck out through this absolutely ridiculous list, let me share with you a few lines from my NaNo novel…

Dusk settled over London. The day had been long, arduous. Those inclined to athletic endeavors still grumbled and groused over a painful loss to Australia. The scientific-minded marveled over Edison’s feat at Pearl Street Station in New York. And cursed his ingenuity.

Leave a Reply

