Where did that week go?

I hope you had a good Memorial Day. I spent it with my family, and a good time was had by all. Not a day goes by that I do not think of my dearest friend, Jeremiah Costello, lost in Iraq much too soon. A friend of a friend also posted pictures of our mutual friend Melissa Mudd. She was not lost to the war, but she did serve before cancer cut her life too short. Again, not a day goes by. In boarding school, she was like my best friend.

On a lighter note, I honestly cannot believe the time has gone by so quickly. It feels like just yesterday was Tidbit Tuesday, but here it is again.

I don’t have much going on. I’m adding some structure to my Fairy Tale, revisioning Cinderella to have more oomph. That sort of thing. Here’s some of the more recent material from the tale, which still does not have a name… Ugh. Just seriously. #Ugh.

Do you wish me to have them killed now, my Queen?” Iphigenia pushed up from the ground. The fire of a chastised acolyte ready to prove their worth lit her eyes ablaze.

Adaline dismissed this with the wave of a hand. “It is too late now. Had you done it right away, the families would have accepted it. Now, it would cause…dissent amongst the Nobles.”

“I apologize, my Queen. You have found the defective one?”

Adaline hissed. Her fist clenched at her side, though she did not throw a fireball this time. “The zyviola eludes me. The raven cannot trace her heartbeat in Above.”

“If she is not Above, my Queen, then there is only one place she can be.”

Adaline spun away from the holographic projection. Grabbing an empty bottle from the table next to her, she threw it across the room with a curse. Through gritted teeth, she growled one word, “Below.”

Iphigenia nodded, the spark in her eye shining brighter as she thought of the hunt to come. “Yes, my Queen. The Below.”

A heavy sigh escaped Adaline’s pursed lips. “I cannot go Below, my sabaka. You will have to go in my stead. You will be my eyes, ears, and sword.”

“Yes, my Queen. I live to serve,” Iphigenia said with a small bow.

Adaline snorted indelicately. “Disappoint me again, and you will not.”

Leave a Reply

