Update

So, who caught this stupid cold making the rounds right now? If you guessed me, you win. I’ve been trying to get back to this blog for weeks. But there just isn’t any motivation. I set myself too grueling a task and I failed. It was really frustrating.

And frustration leads to… More failure? Ugh. Depression. Feelings of not being good enough. Bet you know the drill.

11150617_10205646100368148_8483514894847707659_n This is my cat, Parker. You can call him Prks – I do. Pretty stinking cute, right? He has three legs – he’s missing a hind leg. That puts him at a disadvantage because his jump skills aren’t on par with other cats. He climbs really well – digging in claws and pulling himself up. He never gives up, either. Never doubts himself, even if he is scared of everything.

Would that I could be as strong as my cat, eh?

Well, I recently made a decision to stop dwelling on the negative. I am (almost) forty damned years old. Why the hell am I letting negativity and shame or hate rule my life, by allowing them to sway my feelings? You know what that does, right? Turns you bitter, builds knots in your innards that will (not so) slowly kill you.

I’m not ready to die. Not in the slightest. In fact, as I face the barrel of 40, I find a renewed interest in life. Specifically, island life. While I would certainly love to pick up and move to the U.S. Virgin Islands tonight, as an adult I have responsibilities. Specifically, responsibilities to my husband. We’ve come up with a compromise – Hawaii. And I want to make sure we enjoy the time we have there to the fullest, so we’re saving as much as we can for 10 years – and getting as healthy as we can, too.

Anyway, I’ve sort of lost my train of thought. See, here’s the thing – I started my Serial Sunday with the intent of developing the back story for my male lead, Duncan. But it wasn’t necessary. Not only did I change the background story so that his parents have a happy marriage (if not a happy ending), but there’s that whole Dragon Horde and whatnot. It had zero business being in my historical romance.

A Gaslamp Fantasy, on the other hand? Yes. Especially one centered around dragons.

No, I have not abandoned Midnight Garnets. Absolutely not. I’ve just realized where all that other stuff belongs.

That said, there are going to be some changes going forward.

One, I am dropping the Serial Sundays – for now. I love the idea of serializing a story, whether here on my blog for free or on a site where people pay to read it, but it has to be an actual story. One with at least a theme and an idea of a plot. I love the idea of audience participation guiding the story. What about you? Interested?

Two, The pieces I share going forward are going to be from stalled projects or something I am reading. Something that I own. And even then, just tidbits – ten lines or less. Perhaps my favorite line of a story or one I think readers will enjoy. Something to get you involved in what I’m reading.

Three, I am definitely going to be sharing more from blogs I follow through reblogging or pressing – or whatever we are calling it these days. There’s so much good stuff out there right now. It needs to reach everyone.

So there you have it. Also, I need to find a legit way to bring in extra cash to put into my savings account. Any tips?

Leave a Reply

