Read Whatever You Want

When the Twilight saga came out, I remember a huge uproar over how far from the standard vampire trope Ms. Meyer had deviated. Then, and now I say: who cares if you think it’s garbage, at least people are reading.

Even my objection to FSOG isn’t that people are reading, but rather that people a) romanticize the abuse, b) think it’s representative of the BDSM community, and c) think the writing is actually good.

Read whatever you want, don’t worry about the opinions of others.

Johnny Reads

One of the things people really like doing here on WordPress is recommending and/or asking for book recommendations. And then you have people like me (no, I’m not the only one) who do neither of these two things. No asking for reading recommendations and no taking them. But I think my group is lacking in the numbers department.

See, I don’t understand how come everyone who likes reading can’t just read whatever they want. Why does anyone care what somebody thinks of their reading habits? You think I do? Think I care at all what any other person thinks of what I’m currently reading? I don’t. Think I care at all what any other person thinks of the particular genres I enjoy reading? I don’t. Think I care at all what any other person is reading? I don’t. And I don’t understand why everyone else seems to believe otherwise.

For…

View original post 121 more words

Leave a Reply

