Is Every Bad Guy (Girl) a villain?

No.

At least, not in my opinion. Just as every villain is not exclusively bad, not ever bad person is a villain.

Again, this is just my opinion. Perhaps your opinion is different?

I am thinking about this because I have a character in my book that is purely a bitch. And yes, I mean she is mean-spirited, petty, jealous, and frankly, just plain mean. So far, she has not learned that actions and words have consequences. She is the only child of a fairly prominent and old family. And a shifter to boot. She is also just plain fun to write.

She isn’t the villain of the current project, although she is the catalyst that sets the ball rolling for the next book. I am toying with a redemption story for her. We do love a good redemption story, right? But it isn’t very realistic, is it? I mean – let’s be realistic here. There are tons of nasty people in the world who live their entire lives as a nasty person without ever being “redeemed” or becoming a better person. Yet they still find love and happiness. You know, at least their own version of it.

So I suppose Lady Eloise could have her own story without ever being redeemed. Now that sounds like a challenge. As writers – we know she will only get a story if she wants it.

As things stand right now she is having fun being a bitch and stirring the pot as much as possible. Here is a little taste of her cattiness:

 

Not bothering to knock, Lady Eloise swept into the grand room that she would occupy before year’s end. “Well, this is just hideous. I cannot wait until I am Mistress of this home, and can change the furnishings to better suit my delicate nature,” she said out loud, startling Helena who was lounging on a couch in front of the large bed.

“Why yes, you may come in Lady Eloise. How kind of you to stop by and wish me a good rest.”

“Are you mad, peasant? I wish you no such thing. In fact, I would dearly like it if you were to find yourself at the bottom of the ocean. I do not know what you think to accomplish here, but Duncan will not be swayed by your loose ways for long,” stated Lady Eloise, coming to rest in a chair near the fireplace.

“My apologies, but my what?” Putting her book down, Helena spared her a momentary glance before looking away.

“Don’t bother with the charade of a proper little virgin. I know you for the slut you really are. Did you think to seduce my fiance while I was here, under the same roof?”

“You cannot be serious, my lady. Come, where is your audience? Are they hiding in my dressing room?” Jumping up, Helena moved toward the large bathroom, clearly expecting to find people hiding there, anticipating her newest degradation at the hands of Lady Eloise.

“Oh no, this is between you and I. There does not appear to be an immediate need to let your lack of morals become public knowledge. At least, not yet.” Lady Eloise lounged in the chair, entirely at ease despite the grotesque colors of the room. Soon, this would all be hers and she already felt comfortable.

“You are delusional if you believe I am sleeping with that neanderthal you seem so attached to, Lady Eloise.”

“And you are a simpleton if you think I believe your denials. Just remember this, Duncan and I will be announcing our engagement soon. We’ve been intimate for quite some time. If you thought to warm his bed after inveigling an invitation to my intimate little party, well… You will not do so.”

Across the room, the peasant stared at her before snorting indelicately. “You really are delusional, Lady Eloise. Such a shame. Do try to keep the madness in reign. I’ve heard awful things about the conditions of the madhouses in Lower London.”

Eloise wanted to scream with rage; she wanted to swipe this dirty little peasant out of existence. Oh, she wanted revenge for this… Standing up leisurely, not allowing her emotions to gain control of her actions, she said only, “Let me make myself clear, peasant. Duncan is mine. If you do not stay away from him, I will make you pay.”

Exiting the room as quickly as she had entered, Lady Eloise quickly found the room of Lord Milne. She knocked, but did not wait for a response. Entering, she found the older gentleman enjoying a brandy with Therese.

“I do apologize for interrupting your little tryst – or whatever this is. Milne, I want you to arrange a meeting with Collins for me.”

“You cannot be serious dear girl. He will never agree to meeting with you!” Lord Milne proclaimed.

“Tell him if he does not agree to meet me at Kirke’s temple here on the estate tomorrow night, that I will tell everyone he and I have been meeting in secret for the last two years. I will force his hand only if he makes me.” Threatened Lady Eloise before slipping to the room she was forced to share with Lissandra.

 

Leave a Reply

