Names

Bee to the blossom, moth to the flame; Each to his passion; what’s in a name?
Helen Hunt Jackson

I thought about starting this post with that famous quote by Shakespeare, but then I thought… Why? It’s not very original, no matter how well known it is…

So I found this one instead. I had never heard it, but I really like it.

Anyway. As I am starting over with my novel, I’ve decided I want to start with a really good name. The name of the series stays the same, but each book will need its own name. Something that fits the time period and the theme, both.

(Side note: A New name is necessary also, to create a new file in yWriter, but that is neither here nor there…)

I cannot speak for any other writer in the world, but I draw a lot of inspiration from music. One of my side projects is inspired solely by the works of Concrete Blonde, although it has been temporarily shelved. I won’t speak for others, but I have seen that other writers are the same way…

As I am writing a historical romance (slash gas lamp fantasy) I have found a lot of inspiration in Classical pieces. I have a certain fondness for three instruments: Cello, Violin, Piano. So I listen, and I read… Soon, the perfect name will come to me.

Shall it have something to do with the season in which the book takes place? Perhaps the leading lady’s favorite piece of music? What about a play on the title of a classic tale? (Through the Scrying Pool rather than Through the Looking Glass)

Perhaps by this time next week, I shall have the perfect name…

Leave a Reply

