The Trouble With Historical Writing

I love historical fiction. I especially love my historical romance. But, I’m discovering it isn’t as fun as one might think. When I go to process a scene prior to writing it, I’m like…shoot, what would be a typical day here? What would he have worn? And let me tell you something. There is a crap ton of information about women’s fashion in history, but not necessarily a lot about men. And I’m not an expert on anything like that. There are days when I can barely dress myself NOW.

But, onward I trudge. I have some books awaiting pickup at the library, which I hope will help with some research. In the meantime, Google Images and Pinterest seem to be helping a lot.

Have I told you that I love the research bits? I love learning new things, especially about the past. It gives us such an appreciation of those who came before us.

 

Also, happy 4th of July to those of you in the States.

Leave a Reply

