Plotting

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I have never been very good at plotting. An idea will form, oftentimes enough of an idea to actually make something, but then my mind gets stuck. I may have an idea of a beginning or an end, perhaps even both, but I don’t have a clue about the in-between. So I’m always reading up on plotting. There are a ton of books out there, but I’m a minimum wage monkey. I don’t have a lot of extra cash for writing books. I’ll get them for my Kindle app if they’re free, but if they cost… On the wish list they go.

Today, I have found two helpful blogs, each with distinctly different plotting styles. Is it bordering on insane/redundant to try them both? I seriously hope not! And let’s be honest – I’m doing it regardless.

I am starting with the plotting technique of Rachel Aaron. I admit that I’m not familiar with her work, but I do hope to check her out soon. To me, her plotting technique is a lot of listing. You work through several steps (5, as the title suggests) of lists/free writing. Or am I the only one who creates lists when free writing? Regardless, so far I am really liking this style.

I was prompted to do a description of the home of Princess Elixabeth, as I blogged before. What I have so far is not complete, not by any means. Quite a bit of it is not as descriptive as I want but it was more a form of “free writing”. I am going to share it, even unfinished. Look for that later – I love writing prompts when they actually get something going. I despise them when they make me stop and stare at the wall.

All of this begs the question though, how much of your pre-writing do you, as a writer, share? By which I mean plotting, character development, etc…

I love hearing from you, so please share your thoughts!

One thought on “Plotting

  1. Pingback: I’m Going Home | Laura Michaela Banse

Leave a Reply

