Research

Do you enjoy doing the research when you’re writing, or is it a dreaded task?

I know the experts say you can never do too much research, but there are times when I feel like it’s all I do. Perhaps it is because I’ll get this CRAZY idea that sounds so awesome in my head, but when I sit down to flesh it out and start researching, it’s utter shite. I know some people might think I’m a flighty writer, but it’s more that I just came to understand I wasn’t going to be doing anything with a particular idea, or at least not right now. And at times, it is absolutely because I bogged myself down with so much research that the idea became stale, or boring.

I know that perfect balance between research and writing exists. Or, at the very least, something very close. It just has to, right?

I’m trying something new with the idea floating around my head. As I research something, I use it as an interview question for a main character. Like right now, I’m working on a setting for Faery dwellings. (Not mounds as we’re skipping that and going to something slightly different.) So, instead of trying to write a dry description of the characters home, she is describing it to me.

I’m not sure that I can imagine living on an enchanted island, but Elixabeth Stigweard has lived there all her life. While she knows of the outside realms, she has never left the island grouping she calls home. And rarely has she left the main island to visit one of the smaller islands. She and I are almost done with this interview question. Are you as anxious as I am to read her descriptions?

Leave a Reply

