Journeys

So, I don’t know if it’s because I’m just a forgetful person or what but until I started researching plot structures and whatnot, I had no concept of the “Hero’s Journey”. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read books that use the concept and I can recognize it, especially in fantasy/science fiction. But it wasn’t something that had a name. It wasn’t official. And yet, I just didn’t “get it”. Is this a lack of education? A lack of comprehension? Or an inability to connect with something that just doesn’t fit my writing style?

Well, let’s take a look at that. What, exactly, is my writing style? Do I even have a writing style? I’ve mentioned it before – my reading styles vary drastically. As do my writing styles, I suppose. Yet there has never been a question in my mind that my main lead character is always female. I can, and do, write from the male perspective but my main, main, main is still female. So when I stumbled upon the Heroine’s Journey, I was intrigued. I haven’t bought the book, but I did read the two entries at this blog. And it made sense. I connected with this journey almost immediately. Is it because it’s more internal vs external? Absolutely. Will all this internal reflection make my strong female character weak and readers unable to relate to her? I say absolutely not. And not because I want to write for females. More than anything, I write for myself but outside of me, I write for all readers. All ages, all genders. What I do believe is that this journey will help me, with no formal training, create a better character. One that has depth and feelings. One that I, personally, can like. Even if I want to smack the crap out of her at times.

Here, by the way, is the book discussed on that blog: 45 Master Characters by Victoria Lynn Schmidt. I guess I’ll add it to my Amazon Wish List. It looks both interesting and helpful.

2 thoughts on “Journeys

  1. symplysilent

    Hi Laura; I felt every word you wrote. My epiphany came when I read Blaze Snyder’s “Save The Cat.” He talks about ten genres, and they weren’t what I thought at all. Your hero’s journey sounds like his Golden Fleece. I felt like a total ditz. I’m reading other things which just show me more and more I don’t know. Well, at least I have the rest of my life to learn it. Thank you for opening up your heart, Silent

    Like

    Reply
    1. lauramichaela Post author

      I have an AS in Business Management. I’ve never taken an actual writing course. One literature course that I would have failed because my interpretations of the materials didn’t match the professors, had it not been for the curve that is. Bust seriously. Why ask for personal interpretation and opinions if you’re just going to dismiss them? ANYWAY. I have 0 writer training, so I’m learning a crap ton as I go along. I was not prepared for NaNoWriMo last year. I will be prepared this year!

      Thank you so much for reading!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

