Work-in-Progress Wednesday

It’s Wednesday, and I’m about to watch a couple lecture videos, so I’ll keep this short.

On many blogs, it is Work-in-Progress Wednesday, where we share not only our works but invite readers to share theirs.

I’ve shared this bit on two blogs, Jude Knight and Bryn Donovan – both wonderful writers, whom you should definitely check out. I definitely recommend Bryn’s blog if you struggle finishing a book. 😉

So, here’s the bit I’ve shared. I already want to change it, so I will later this week.

(everything after “I am.” is completely off-the-cuff made up as I posted this on Jude’s blog. Agonizing!)

“You are leaving.” It was not a question.

Their gazes met across the length of the room. Rupert’s large frame filled the doorway leading to her bedchamber, and she took a step back, bumping into the small table by the balcony doors. Briefly, she wondered if he could see the evidence of her earlier tears. It was a thought most quickly dismissed; newly engaged women often shed tears of joy, so it was of no matter.

She owed him an explanation, and opened her mouth to give him one, but found herself saying only, “I am.”

He scowled, but did not protest, and her shoulders fell. She leaned against the window, letting the cold seep into her burning skin. She owed him an explanation, and yet, could not speak. She closed her eyes, blocking out

She owed him everything, but could offer nothing in return.

“Fithian takes you to London, then?” Again, it was not a question. Likely, Lord Fithian had already apprised the others of their plans.

“Only briefly, to obtain a special license.” Perhaps he did not know the plans.

“And your father?”

Her eyes flew to his face, and there she saw her own pain echoed. His hands clenched at his sides, and a bead of sweat trickled down the side of his face.
She stepped forward, to close the distance between them, but he stopped her by throwing up one hand.

“Do not,” he said through clenched teeth.

(And I’m not sure where I’ll go from there. I’m still trying to rein myself in and stop writing all willy-nilly through the book so I can get the first 5 chapters done for a beta read.)

Leave a comment